Yesterday, (Thursday) I was indirectly challenged to spend my Saturday afternoon (tomorrow) being a hipster. We have this great hipster coffee shop right off campus that we occasionally walk to. Well, the mention of coffee came up and then one thing led to another and somewhere the phrase "can we wear our hipster camo?" came into play and then before we knew it (and obviously before it was mainstream) Hipst-urday (see what I did there?) was a thing, and we were mentally sorting our clothes by degrees of obscurity and mainstreamity (sure, it's a word...).
So I did my research and consulted some hipster friends (special thanks to Shaunuk for his many helpful suggestions!) and then raided my closet, which fortunately contains the strangest assortment of clothes known to mankind. It's also fortunate that I did laundry this morning, because a few of my now key hipster items were dirty up until twelve hours ago. The hipster gods must be smiling on me. ("The hipster gods?" you say? Yeah, they're a thing. Pretty new, pretty underground. I wouldn't expect you to know about them.)
So the plan is to go sit in a coffee shop and do hipster-ish activities. Sketching. Reading. Staying up-to-date on all the fancy electronics. (Okay, really fast, someone explain to me why hipsters have such a fascination with technology and gadgets and ish. That's one of their things, right? But isn't all of that stuff sooo incredibly mainstream? Since it's mainstream for a hipster to dislike mainstream things, does that mean that for a hipster to like something mainstream, they're furthering their hipster status of being anti-mainstream? [How did the hipster die?! He drowned in the mainstream.]) Taking artistic pictures of the coffee cup. From eight different angles. Of course. If I had a smart phone I'd definitely Instagram all over the place, (how much does a hipster weigh? An Insta-gram.) but, alas, no smart phone. Just a poser Blackberry.
Forreal though. Frederick, my phone, tries real hard to convince people he's a Blackberry.
Sorry, bud... maybe someday.
Oh, and homework. Do hipsters do homework? Or, do they do homework in public places like normal college students? (Just how wide is the mainstream?)
So that's what my weekend is looking like. All you other people should go out and celebrate Hipst-urday. Maybe we'll make it an official thing. The fourth Saturday of every month can be Hipst-urday. But then it might become popular. Wow, this hipster life is so complicated...
Oh yeah, I almost forgot! Special shout-out to Jill and David for making suggestions in regards to my hipster outfit. It was super helpful and even more super fun. Also, I love you guys, but I'm not wearing what you told me to wear. I think I'm keeping like, three things. Good try though. I still support you, David!
And super lastly, I'll try to provide some photo documentary of Catherine Chaney: Hipster Edition. Maybe those pictures will appear sometime early next week.
Whatever you decide to do with your Saturday, I hope it's as awesome as I expect mine to be! But like, unique awesome, not typical awesome... or something like that. (Nahbutreally, I don't know how long I can keep this up)
No comments:
Post a Comment